Facebook on Friday announced a new privacy change that will affect the accounts of users who pass away. Instead of only letting deceased users’ friends access their accounts as it did before, Facebook will now keep those accounts’ default privacy settings unchanged.
In other words, a dead person who had a public profile will have their profile stay public even after death, Facebook revealed.
“Starting today, we will maintain the visibility of a person’s content as-is. This will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person’s expectations of privacy,” Facebook wrote. “We are respecting the choices a person made in life while giving their extended community of family and friends ongoing visibility to the same content they could always see.”
“Changes like this are part of a larger, ongoing effort to help people when they face difficult challenges like bereavement on Facebook. We will have more to share in the coming months as we continue to think through how best to help people decide how they want to be remembered and what they want to leave behind for loved ones,” Facebook added.
My Dear Reader
This is just a recent update from facebook, kindly try and double-check your facebook privacy setting because only almighty God knows when the end is near.
With facebook privacy settings, you can decide on who can see your pictures, tag you in a post, chat with you online and so on.